paleochallenge2011

Just another WordPress.com site

coconut curried beef and tahini roasted vegetables May 4, 2011

Filed under: Uncategorized — aminakailua @ 6:49 am

Yay. Another paleo dinner success story.

It started with a bacon fat (I use Gwaltney Beef Bacon). I sautéed some well diced sweet onions, green onions and garlic. Yes, now would be a great time for smellivision. My house smelled like a gourmet palace. Once they were well seasoned I added a pound of grass fed sirloin stewing meat, cut into bite sized pieces and browned it. Once that was said and done, I deglazed the pan with 1/2 cup of coconut water. You could stop here and not be dissapointed, trust me. I didn’t after sampling I added 1/4 cup of minced cilantro, 2 tsp curry powder, 1/2 tsp cumin, coarse black pepper and 1/4 cup coconut meal. It started getting pretty thick so I added a cup of water, turned it down and walked away. After an hour or so, I tasted it, threw in some salt and some minced habanero (I keep this in the fridge at all times). Let it cook some more, maybe another 45 minutes and then I folded in some spinach.

While all this was going on, I also roasted some veggies. Here’s how it goes down: Me, a bag of Organic Frozen California Style Vegetables (Safeway O line) and a tablespoon of tahini start getting it on. I decide to get a little kinky and I add some fresh spears of local zucchini and garlic. Turmeric joins in, with cumin, grapeseed oil and sea salt… all with some apprehension. After massaging them with my hands, I put them in a pan uncovered and roast in the oven at 425° for about 20 minutes, and Voilà!

Dinner is served!

 

Leave a Reply

